Carlo Rovelli’s "dialogue" on LQG and strings

You may remember that I recently read L’equation Bogdanov, and did not find it very good.

So it felt refreshing to come across a more interesting discussion of these problems, namely a dialogue written by Carlo Rovelli. Carlo Rovelli is one of the leading researchers in loop quantum gravity, that Lubos Motl so incorrectly describes as trying to reinvent aether with “atoms of space”. The dialogue is not new, but it was apparently refreshed in February 2008, despite what the ArXiv web site indicates.

I won’t take sides between string theory and loop quantum gravity. I’m not entirely comfortable in either approach, which may be because I don’t know enough (that’s clearly what Lubos Motl thinks), or maybe because the questions I’m interested in are not resolved by either.

Still, I feel conceptually slightly closer to LQG. For example, through a different line of reasoning, my approach also suggests that there is no “background”, i.e. some sort of fixed space-time where you play physical events. The existence of such a background (and of properties I really cannot subscribe to, like the fact that it is continuous) are, to the best of my knowledge, essential for string theory.

And obviously, on the form, I much prefer the calm, short, yet substantiated and verifiable approach to the debate that Carlo Rovelli gives us here to the endless, abusive approach Lubos Motl represents. Of course, that means that Carlo Rovelli is not as loud, and possibly is heard less. But he’s the smart guy.

2 thoughts on “Carlo Rovelli’s "dialogue" on LQG and strings

  1. Dear Christophe,Just a little question : are you in any way (which I suppose) related to Guillaume or (his brother) Henri de Dinnechin? There were good friends of mine couple of years ago (before Henri left France) and also close to the sisters d’Oultremont (I was married with one of them). Thank you to tell me.

  2. Dear Anonymous,I am related to Henri and Guillaume, but I do not know them very well, and not having a genealogy nearby, I cannot remember what the exact relationship is.The Dinechin family is now pretty large, even if the name barely avoided extinction in the XIXth century.RegardsChristophe

Leave a Reply

