Connecting Mavericks to a Freebox: Oh the pain!

I’m very frustrated. Today, I wasted basically two or three hours fighting unreliable software implementing one of the most basic features in the world of networking, namely file sharing. I ought to be simple, it used to work, but if my experience is representative, it’s complexly broken nowadays. Grenouille bouillie.

What I tried to do is not that complicated. We have a Freebox at home, it’s basically a DSL modem with many features, including the possibility to act as a NAS. So I connected my external drives, and tried to connect to them with my Macs.

It worked. I was happy. I started copying my files around. I noticed that it was very reactive. For example, I could eject a disk from the NAS user interface (a web GUI that is relatively well designed), and instantly, the file server would restart. I saw a message on the Macs saying that the server had shut down, and a couple of seconds later, I was back in business.

Then something happened, and everything stopped working at once.

It’s frustrating, because I know exactly what I did at that moment. I reformatted a disk with the NAS user interface. That disk was initially formatted as HFS+, which the NAS would expose as read only. So I reformatted it as Ext4.

And suddenly, the file server stopped working, even when I removed the disk in question. That leads me to believe I changed something else without knowing it. Maybe the GUI changed some configuration behind my back? I have no idea. All I know is that I spent the last two hours trying to understand how to revert my configuration so that I would be able to share disks again.

Symptoms: I connect to the NAS, and it refuses to show my disks. If I disable Mac sharing (AFP) and only enable PC sharing (SMB), then I can connect to the NAS, but somewhat unreliably.

I suspect the problem is on the Mavericks side of things, because connexions to another NAS I have at home are equally flaky. One minute it transfers dozen of files per second, the next it’s as if I was writing to a floppy disk. Transfers from other protocols (e.g. using a web browser) are fast and reliable, so I don’t think it’s a Wifi or network issue.

How annoying.

 

Leave a Reply

