screen-shot-2016-10-06-at-12-40-09

macOS Sierra Mail bug

This week, I started using macOS Sierra. Overall, like iOS 10, it’s another one of these Apple releases of late where what you gain is not extraordinarily compelling, but you discover as you go various things that you lost for no good reason.

Here is one I found today. Apparently, macOS Sierra cannot send mail with picture attachments. That seems like a pretty big one. (Update: It apparently depends on the machine, see at end).

If I send a picture with attachment from a machine running OSX 10.11, here is what I see in my Inbox in macOS Sierra:

Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 12.38.09.png

So far, so good. Notice that the mail was sent to an Exchange server.

But now, let’s send an e-mail with a picture, this time from macOS Sierra. Here is what it looks like in my Inbox:

Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 12.39.44.png

Now, something is obviously missing. In Outlook, I see some weird message telling me that the attachment was removed:

Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 12.40.09.png

What is really curious is that it seems to depend on the server being used, not on the client. If I send the same kind of e-mail to a Google Mail account, then it looks like this, with a large empty box at the top, and then my picture attachment lost at the bottom (still not good, but at least, the picture is not entirely lost) :

Screen Shot 2016-10-06 at 12.42.46.png

I filed a bug report with Apple on this. It seems pretty major to me, and I really wonder how they could have missed it. Is there something special with my setup? Do you see the same thing?

Update: I tried sending an e-mail with attachment from another Mac also running macOS Sierra, and I have no problem at all… except that the aspect ratio of the picture is all wrong on Outlook. So the problem is not with every instance of macOS Sierra, which is good news for Apple and bad news for the Apple Mail developers (bugs that don’t always happen are harder to figure out).

Leave a Reply

